Romance Du Soir

Label: Signum (SIGCD147) | Year: 2009

Singers: David Hurley (countertenor), Robin Tyson (countertenor), Paul Phoenix (tenor), Philip Lawson (baritone), Christopher Gabbitas (baritone), Stephen Connolly (bass)

Combining perennial favourites with wonderful new discoveries, these immediately appealing pieces reflect the much-loved repertoire at the heart of a King’s Singers programme, performed with the skill and flair that distinguishes the group as one of the world’s most popular a cappella ensembles. Includes works by Elgar, Schumann, Schubert and Saint-Saens, as well as a new piece by popular American composer Libby Larsen.

Track Listing

  1. Calme des Nuits, Op.68 No.1 Camille Saint-Saens 3.16
  2. Music, When Soft Voices Die Edward Bairstow 2.15
  3. O Happy Eyes, Op.18 No.1 Edward Elgar 3.06
  4. Liebe, Op.17 No.2 D.983a Franz Schubert 2.41
  5. Love, Op.18 No 2 Edward Elgar 2.53
  6. Draw On Sweet Night John Wilbye 5.28
  7. Waldesnacht, Op.62 No.3 Johannes Brahms 5.12
  8. Toutes les Nuitz Orlande de Lassus 3.27
  9. Serenade d'Hiver Camille Saint-Saens 5.28
  10. Ach Elslein Ludwig Senfl 2.56
  11. Ritornelle, Op.65 No.1 Robert Schumann 2.56
  12. Weep, Weep Mine Eyes John Wilbye 5.43
  13. Traumlicht, Op.123 No.2 Richard Strauss 5.47
  14. A Lover's Journey - i. In the Still Garden Libby Larsen 2.52
  15. A Lover's Journey - ii. St Valentine's Day Libby Larsen 4.27
  16. A Lover's Journey - iii. Will you, nill you Libby Larsen 1.02
  17. A Lover's Journey - iv. Shall I Compare Thee to a Summer's Day? Libby Larsen 2.57
  18. Romance du Soir, Op.118 Camille Saint-Saëns 2.53
  19. The Long Day Closes Arthur Sullivan 4.21

Additional Albums