Shop / Sermons and Devotions

Sermons and Devotions

Label: BMG Classics | Year: 1996
Singers: David Hurley (countertenor), Nigel Short (countertenor), Bob Chilcott (tenor), Bruce Russell (baritone), Philip Lawson (baritone), Stephen Connolly (bass)

Download now for £7.99

“Sermons and Devotions uses an austere, unequivocally modern idiom…Gorecki’s masterpiece loses none of its intensity. As, indeed, is the case with equally outstanding and emotionally charged accounts of music by Stravinsky and Tavener.”


Track Listing

  1. Totus tuus Henryk Mikolaj Gorecki 9:17
  2. Piispa ja pakana (The Bishop and the Pagan) Veljo Tormis 9:08
  3. Pater Noster Igor Stravinsky 1:34
  4. Ave Maria Igor Stravinsky 1:57
  5. Wymondham Chants: Prologue- Ave, rex angelorum Geoffrey Poole 3:14
  6. Wymondham Chants: Scherzo-Tutivillus Geoffrey Poole 1:55
  7. Wymondham Chants: Prayer-Mary modyr Geoffrey Poole 6:14
  8. Wymondham Chants: Epilogue-Blessed Jesu Geoffrey Poole 5:19
  9. Funeral Ikos John Tavener 7:16
  10. The Lamb John Tavener 3:22
  11. Sermons And Devotions: A statue of snowe Richard Rodney Bennett 3:05
  12. Sermons And Devotions: A flowre at sun-rising Richard Rodney Bennett 3:18
  13. Sermons And Devotions: Poor intricated soule! Richard Rodney Bennett 3:06
  14. Sermons And Devotions: The seasons of his mercies Richard Rodney Bennett 6:23
  15. Sermons And Devotions: The bell doth toll Richard Rodney Bennett 3:57

How to use The King’s Singers website

We have developed this site to be easy to use and accessible for everyone whether using a computer, tablet or smartphone. Here are a few hints and tips for exploring the site.

To enter a section of the site, either click on the relevant tile or image on the home page, or use the menu in the top right-hand corner.


Once you’ve chosen your section, you can use the arrows on either side of the centred image to view more content.


To return to the homepage or visit another area, click the menu button in the top right-hand corner.

Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now