Shop / Sacred Bridges

Sacred Bridges

Label: Signum (SIGCD065) | Year: 2005
Singers: David Hurley (countertenor), Robin Tyson (countertenor), Paul Phoenix (tenor), Philip Lawson (baritone), Christopher Gabbitas (baritone), Stephen Connolly (bass)
Orchestra: Sarband ensemble


Buy now for £12.00

For thousands of years, the biblical Psalter has been the liturgical “heart” of the three main book religions: Judaism, Christianity and Islam. The Psalms announce the word of God and, simultaneously, contain the full range of human experience.

Jews, Christians and Muslims sing and listen to the same songs of lament and joy, confessions of sin, hymns of praise and adoration. In this project of the King’s Singers and Sarband, psalm settings by composers from three religions give an example of how psalms can be a source of spirituality, a political instrument, a link between tradition and modernity and, above all, a bridge connecting human beings.


Track Listing

  1. Psalm 124 Salomone Rossi 2:27
  2. Psalm 9 Ali Ufki/Claude Goudimel 6:16
  3. Psalm 6 Jan Pieterszoon Sweelinck 4:00
  4. Psalm 6 Ali Ufki 13:22
  5. Psalm 113 Jewish Traditional 1:44
  6. Psalm 118 Salomone Rossi 4:49
  7. Psalm 2 Sarband 6:07
  8. Psalm 7 Jan Pieterszoon Sweelinck 4:36
  9. Psalm 2 Ali Ufki 9:01
  10. Psalm 2 Jan Pieterszoon Sweelinck 3:07
  11. Psalm 5 Ali Ufki 12:06
  12. Psalm 128 Salomone Rossi 3:54

How to use The King’s Singers website

We have developed this site to be easy to use and accessible for everyone whether using a computer, tablet or smartphone. Here are a few hints and tips for exploring the site.

To enter a section of the site, either click on the relevant tile or image on the home page, or use the menu in the top right-hand corner.


Once you’ve chosen your section, you can use the arrows on either side of the centred image to view more content.


To return to the homepage or visit another area, click the menu button in the top right-hand corner.

Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now