Shop / 1605: Treason and Dischord

1605: Treason and Dischord

Label: Signum (SIGCD061) | Year: 2005
Singers: David Hurley (countertenor), Robin Tyson (countertenor), Paul Phoenix (tenor), Philip Lawson (baritone), Christopher Gabbitas (baritone), Stephen Connolly (bass)
Organist: Sarah Baldock
Orchestra: Concordia

Buy now for £12.00
Download now for £7.99

On 5 November 1605 Guy Fawkes was caught preparing to detonate 36 barrels of gunpowder under the House of Lords unveiling an act of attempted treason that shocked the whole of Europe. What led a group of young Catholic men to risk their lives for their faith?

400 years later the King’s Singers and Concordia illuminate the dangers of hearing Mass in secret, of conspiracy and downfall, and of Protestant relief and celebration, through a project of music and prose.

The music, structured around Byrd’s perfect 4-part Mass, contains motets by Catholic composers, balanced with Protestant anthems celebrating the downfall of the plot, and a commission from the British composer, Francis Pott. Master Tresham: His Ducke reflects on the of its day – 5/11/1605. The script, drawing on historic texts and written by Deborah Mackay for the quatercentenary concert series related to this CD, uses the dramatised persona of William Byrd, the most famous composer of his age, to recreate the atmosphere of change and hope in the Jacobean court.


Track Listing

  1. George Whitehead's Almand John Dowland 1:29
  2. Kyrie from Mass for 4 voices William Byrd 1:56
  3. A Fancie William Byrd 4:31
  4. Gloria from Mass for 4 voices William Byrd 5:55
  5. Ardens est cor meum Richard Dering 2:38
  6. Civitas sancti tui William Byrd 5:06
  7. Ave Maria gratia plena Peter Philips 2:11
  8. Credo from Mass for 4 voices William Byrd 7:58
  9. Sir Henry Umpton's Funeral John Dowland 4:21
  10. O Lord how joyful is the King Thomas Weelkes 8:24
  11. From Virgin's womb/Rejoice, rejoice William Byrd 2:06
  12. M. Bucton's Galliard John Dowland 1:19
  13. Sanctus & Benedictus from Mass for 4 voices William Byrd 3:53
  14. Master Tresham: His Ducke Francis Pott 13:53
  15. Agnus Dei from Mass for 4 voices William Byrd 3:31

How to use The King’s Singers website

We have developed this site to be easy to use and accessible for everyone whether using a computer, tablet or smartphone. Here are a few hints and tips for exploring the site.

To enter a section of the site, either click on the relevant tile or image on the home page, or use the menu in the top right-hand corner.


Once you’ve chosen your section, you can use the arrows on either side of the centred image to view more content.


To return to the homepage or visit another area, click the menu button in the top right-hand corner.

Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now